

MICHIGAN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PHONE: (517) 373-0113 FAX: (517) 373-5912 RanjeevPuri@house.mi.gov

RANJEEV PURI DEMOCRATIC LEADER

January 14, 2025

Speaker Matt Hall Michigan House of Representatives State Capitol Building Lansing, MI 48913

Dear Speaker Hall,

Included in this document are recommendations for committee assignments of Democratic House members of the 103rd Michigan Legislature. The priority for members should be placement in their preferred type of committee (Appropriations, Oversight, or Policy).

The additional preferences for committee assignments are based on the recommendations provided to our office from the Democratic Caucus's Committee on Committees, chaired by Rep. Jasper Martus, and guided largely by preferences of members and their experience. The CoC process was very collaborative, including multiple surveys as well as follow-up discussions with members as finalizations were made.

By prioritizing teamwork and leveraging the diverse talents within our respective caucuses, we can ensure the 103rd Michigan Legislature is well-positioned to address the priorities of our constituents effectively.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I look forward to working together to finalize these assignments and begin the important work ahead.

Sincerely,

Ranjeev Puri Democratic Leader House District 24







MICHIGAN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PHONE: (517) 373-0113 FAX: (517) 373-5912 RanjeevPuri@house.mi.gov

RANJEEV PURI DEMOCRATIC LEADER

Committee Buckets

Appropriations: Representatives Will Snyder, Julie Brixie, Kimberly Edwards, Alabas Farhat, Jasper Martus, Donavan McKinney, Jason Morgan, Amos O'Neal, Natalie Price, Phil Skaggs, Samantha Steckloff, Regina Weiss, Jimmie Wilson

Policy: Representatives Joey Andrews, Noah Arbit, Erin Byrnes, Brenda Carter, Tyrone Carter, Betsy Coffia, Jennifer Conlin, Morgan Foreman, Kristian Grant, Carol Glanville, Kara Hope, Peter Herzberg, Jason Hoskins, Tulio Liberati, Matt Longjohn, Matt Koleszar, Sharon MacDonell, Denise Mentzer, Mike McFall, Reggie Miller, Cynthia Neeley, Tonya Myers-Phillips, Laurie Pohutsky, Julie Rogers, Helena Scott, Joe Tate, Angela Witwer, Mai Xiong, Stephanie Young, Stephen Wooden

Oversight: Representatives Kelly Breen, Emily Dievendorf, Veronica Paiz, Laurie Pohutsky, Carrie Rheingans, Penelope Tsernoglou, Dylan Wegela

Standing Committees:

Agriculture (4) – Minority Vice Chair Reggie Miller; Representatives Betsy Coffia, Jennifer Conlin, Peter Herzberg

Appropriations (12) – Minority Vice Chair Will Snyder; Representatives Julie Brixie, Alabas Farhat, Jasper Martus, Donavan McKinney, Jason Morgan, Amos O'Neal, Natalie Price, Phil Skaggs, Samantha Steckloff, Regina Weiss, Jimmy Wilson

Communications and Technology (4) – Minority Vice Chair **Joey Andrews**; Representatives **Noah Arbit, Carol Glanville, Joe Tate**

Economic Competitiveness (4) – Minority Vice Chair **Jason Hoskins**; Representatives **Betsy Coffia**, **Kristian Grant, Denise Mentzer**

Education and Workforce (4) – Minority Vice Chair Matt Koleszar; Representatives Carrie Rheingans, Erin Byrnes, Carol Glanville

Election Integrity (3) – Minority Vice Chair Erin Byrnes; Representatives Noah Arbit, Matt Koleszar

Energy (7) – Minority Vice Chair Helena Scott; Representatives Joey Andrews, Peter Herzberg, Sharon MacDonell, Joe Tate, Karen Whitsett, Stephen Wooden

Families and Veterans (4) – Minority Vice Chair Mai Xiong; Representatives Jennifer Conlin, Kara Hope, Stephanie Young







MICHIGAN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

RANJEEV PURI

PHONE: (517) 373-0113 FAX: (517) 373-5912 RanjeevPuri@house.mi.gov

Finance (6) - Minority Vice Chair Cynthia Neeley; Representatives Brenda Carter, Tulio Liberati, Mike McFall, Stephen Wooden, Stephanie Young

Government Operations (2) – Minority Vice Chair Tulio Liberati; Representative Kara Hope

Health Policy (6) – Minority Vice Chair Julie Rogers; Representatives Matt Longjohn, Reggie Miller, Karen Whitsett, Angela Witwer, Mai Xiong

Insurance (4) – Minority Vice Chair Brenda Carter; Representatives Morgan Foreman, Cynthia Neeley, Julie Rogers

Judiciary (4) – Minority Vice Chair Kara Hope, Representatives Tyrone Carter, Tonya Myers-Phillips, Julie Rogers

Natural Resources and Tourism (7) – Minority Vice Chair Noah Arbit; Representatives Betsy Coffia, Morgan Foreman, Matt Longjohn, Denise Mentzer, Tonya Myers-Phillips, Stephen Wooden

Oversight (7) – Minority Vice Chair Kelly Breen; Representatives Emily Dievendorf, Veronica Paiz, Laurie Pohutsky, Carrie Rheingans, Penelope Tsernoglou, Dylan Wegela

Regulatory Reform (7) – Minority Vice Chair Tyrone Carter; Representatives Kristian Grant, Mike McFall, Cynthia Neeley, Helena Scott, Will Snyder, Angela Witwer

Rules (3) - Minority Vice Chair Angela Witwer; Representatives Jason Hoskins, Sharon MacDonell

Transportation and Infrastructure (7) – Minority Vice Chair **Sharon MacDonell**; Representatives **Jennifer Conlin, Morgan Foreman, Peter Herzberg, Jason Hoskins, Reggie Miller, Tonya Myers-Phillips**

Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (2) – Minority Vice Chair Carol Glanville; Representative Erin Byrnes

Oversight Subcommittees:

Child Welfare System (2) - Minority Vice Chair Veronica Paiz; Representative Carrie Rheingans

Corporate Subsidiaries and State Investments (2) – Minority Vice Chair **Dylan Wegela**; Representative **Laurie Pohutsky**

Homeland Security and Foreign Influence (2) – Minority Vice Chair Penelope Tsernoglou; Representative Veronica Paiz







MICHIGAN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PHONE: (517) 373-0113 FAX: (517) 373-5912 RanjeevPuri@house.mi.gov

RANJEEV PURI DEMOCRATIC LEADER

Public Health and Food Security (2) – Minority Vice Chair Carrie Rheingans; Representative Emily Dievendorf

State and Local Public Assistance Programs (2) – Minority Vice Chair **Emily Dievendorf**; Representative **Dylan Wegela**

Weaponization of State Government (2) – Minority Vice Chair Laurie Pohutsky, Representative Penelope Tsernoglou

Appropriations Subcommittees:

Medicaid and Behavioral Health (2) – Minority Vice Chair Julie Brixie; Representative Kimberly Edwards

Public Health (2) – Minority Vice Chair Alabas Farhat; Representative Julie Brixie

Human Services (2) – Minority Vice Chair Natalie Price; Representative Jasper Martus

Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (2) – Minority Vice Chair **Samantha Steckloff**; Representative **Donavan McKinney**

Agriculture and Rural Development and Natural Resources (2) – Minority Vice Chair Julie Brixie, Representative Amos O'Neal

Higher Education and Community Colleges (2) – Minority Vice Chair **Jason Morgan**; Representative **Regina Weiss**

Michigan State Police (2) – Minority Vice Chair Alabas Farhat; Representative Jason Morgan

General Government (1) – Minority Vice Chair **Jimmie Wilson**

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and Insurance and Financial Services (2) – Minority Vice Chair **Donavan McKinney**; Representative **Alabas Farhat**

Joint Capitol Outlay (3) – Minority Vice Chair Kimberly Edwards; Representatives Phil Skaggs, Natalie Price

School Aid and Department of Education (2) – Minority Vice Chair Regina Weiss; Representative Jason Morgan

Military and Veterans Affairs (2) – Minority Vice Chair Amos O'Neal; Representative Jimmie Wilson







MICHIGAN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PHONE: (517) 373-0113 FAX: (517) 373-5912 RanjeevPuri@house.mi.gov

RANJEEV PURI DEMOCRATIC LEADER

State and Local Transportation (2) – Minority Vice Chair **Phil Skaggs**; Representative **Samantha Steckloff**

Corrections and Judiciary (1) – Minority Vice Chair Amos O'Neal

Labor and Economic Opportunity (1) – Minority Vice Chair Jasper Martus



