DETROIT — Yesterday, the Michigan Legislative Automotive Caucus announced their co-chairs for the 2019-2020 legislative session, with state Rep. Joe Tate (D-Detroit), a legislator from Detroit, named co-chair. Also serving as co-chairs during the 2019-2020 session will be state Sens. Mallory McMorrow (D-Royal Oak) and Wayne Schmidt (R-Traverse City), and state Rep. Jim Lilly (R-Park Township). The announcement was made as legislators attended the 2019 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) preview week.

“For over a century, Michigan’s automotive industry has shaped the global economy along with how people engage with one another,” said Rep. Tate. “I am thrilled to be working with my esteemed co-chairs, and there is no more appropriate place for us to announce this renewed focus than at NAIAS as we celebrate the legacy and the future of this storied relationship between Detroit and the automobile.”

Founded in 2015, the Legislative Automotive Caucus is dedicated to ensuring Michigan’s business climate remains competitive and supports the state’s global leadership in next-generation mobility technology and its signature industry. Since its formation, the Caucus has taken the lead in defining 21st century auto policies, such as the SAVE Act put in place in 2016 to establish regulations for the testing, use and the eventual sale of autonomous vehicles.