LANSING — Last night, the Speaker of the House announced the committee assignments for the 2019-20 legislative session. State Rep. Angela Witwer (Delta Township) was appointed to serve on both the House Agriculture and Health Policy committees. Witwer spent 22 years in the health care sector before becoming a small business owner.

 “Being selected to serve on the Health Policy Committee and having the opportunity to share my technical experience, after spending such a large part of my career in health care, is a unique honor,” Witwer said. “I’m going to hit the ground running, and look forward to beginning to work with my colleagues to deliver safe and sensible health policy outcomes to the people of Michigan.”

Witwer was also one of only five House Democrats to be appointed to the Agriculture Committee.

“Being born in a small farming village and having spent the last 45 years in Eaton County – a place with such a rich agricultural heritage – means it is important for me to be at the table when decisions are made that impact our state’s farmers,” Witwer said. “Being a member of the Agriculture Committee allows me to look out for their interests while still being conscious of our environment and the need to protect our water.”


House District 71 represents 100,000 residents throughout most of Eaton County. This includes the cities of Charlotte, Eaton Rapids, Grand Ledge, Olivet and Potterville; parts of Lansing; and the townships of Bellevue, Benton, Carmel, Chester, Delta Charter, Eaton Rapids, Kalamo, Oneida Charter, Roxand, Sunfield, Vermontville, Walton and Windsor Charter.