LANSING — Yesterday, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated 43 counties in Michigan as primary natural disaster areas, allowing producers in those counties to qualify for assistance following this past spring’s inclement weather conditions. In response, state Rep. Angela Witwer (Delta Township) issued the following statement:

“Farming is a way of life for so many in our state – it’s how they support their families and contribute to our communities. But the uncharacteristically terrible weather we experienced this spring really put a lot of agricultural producers in tough financial situations. Earlier this year, Gov. Whitmer and I worked hard to raise awareness for the dire need for disaster relief for Eaton County farmers, and I am happy to see this aid finally come through for counties across the state.”