DETROIT, Mich., Nov. 6, 2020 — Members of the Michigan House of Representatives Detroit Caucus announced their selected leadership team for the 101st Legislature today, filling positions for the 2021-2022 term. State Rep. Tenisha Yancey (D-Harper Woods) was unanimously selected to serve as Chair, along with state Rep. Tyrone Carter (D-Detroit) as Vice Chair, with Reps. Elect Helena Scott (D-Highland Park) to serve as Secretary and Stephanie Young (D-Detroit) as Treasurer. In response, state Rep. Sherry Gay-Dagnogo (D-Detroit), released the following statement:

“The Detroit Caucus was founded in 2004, and Chaired by now Chief Judge Bill McConnico, and Vice Chair Senator Morris Hood, III, yet our caucus alumni stems back to representation of strong women in leadership like the Honorable Daisy Elliott, Mary Lou Parks, Teola P. Hunter, Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick, the late Alma Stallworth, Irma Clark Coleman and many others.

“I am honored to have served as the first woman Chair of the Detroit Caucus, and even prouder to pass the baton to Rep. Tenisha Yancey, from the 1st House District. She has been an incredible leader, and Secretary during the 100th Legislature, and I’m proud that she accepted the nomination from Vice Chair Rep. Tyrone Carter, and was unanimously elected to serve by the 101st Detroit Caucus Chair. Detroit is blessed to have her at the helm, supported by Vice Chair Rep. Carter, Rep. Elect Stephanie Young as Treasurer, and Rep. Elect Helena Scott as Secretary. I am confident that Detroit legislators will optimize opportunities for our city throughout their tenure.”