LANSING, Mich., Feb. 13, 2023 — State Rep. Kristian Grant (D-Grand Rapids) has announced the formation of an 82nd District Council. This Council has been convened to identify the top pressing issues facing Southeast Grand Rapids and discuss solutions that will include programs, policy and funding and be closely tied to the work of Rep. Grant in Lansing.

“As I begin my work for the Legislature, it is important to me that from the beginning, I identify leaders who are already invested in the success of this district,” Grant said. “The people of Southeast GR deserve a team of experts who are dedicated to working hard for them and who have the resources to back it up. For far too long, this district has been left without the tools and the voice that they are entitled to. Now we have 21 voices, and I am focused on using them to improve the quality of life for those we serve.”

Members of the 82nd District Council are:

Elected Officials

Tony Baker – Kent County District 17 Commissioner

Nathaniel Moody – Third Ward GR City Commissioner

Kelsey Perdue – Third Ward GR City Commissioner


Tasha Blackman – CEO – Cherry Heath

Tanell Hills – Senior Community Liaison – Blue Cross Blue Shield


Jerry Bishop – Pastor- Lifequest Church

Synia Gant-Jordan – Organizer – BLACK VOICES @ THE RIVER

LaKiya Jenkins – Executive Director – LINC UP


Dale Robertson – President & CEO – Grand Rapids Public Museum

Stephen Smith – Owner – Muse GR

Immigrant Communities

Rose Mayan – Immigrant Rights Organizer – Michigan United: Immigration Sector


Ryan Kilpatrick – Lead Consultant – Housing Next

Business & Economic Development

Guillermo Cisneros – President & CEO – West Michigan Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Rick Baker – President & CEO – Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce

Richard App –  Retail Retention & Attraction Specialist – City of Grand Rapids

Jordoun Eatman – VP of Engagement & Inclusion – Experience GR

Mental Health

Dr. Carolyn King – Medical Director – C. King Psychiatry

Education & Workforce Development

Ronald Gorman – Assistant Superintendent of Instruction Service – Kent ISD

Jamon Alexander – President & CEO – West Michigan Center for Arts & Technology

Environment & Greenspace

Wesley Watson – West MI Regional Coordinator – League of Conservation Voters

Stacey Bare – Executive Director – Friends of GR Parks