LANSING – Rep. Sheldon Neeley (D-Flint) was re-elected today to chair the Michigan Legislative Black Caucus (MLBC) for the 2019-20 session. Rep. Neeley was first elected chairman in January 2017, following a stint as MLBC’s 1st Vice Chair during the 2015-2016 legislative session.

"We're moving forward in a positive and unified way, tackling the challenges of our urban communities and working toward a better quality of life for all Michiganders in the areas of criminal justice reform, education, health disparities and clean water, in particular," Neeley said.

Other MLBC officers elected at today’s meeting are: Rep. Leslie Love (D-Detroit), Executive Vice Chair; Sen. Marshall Bullock (D-Detroit), 1st Vice Chair; Sen. Erika Geiss (D-Taylor), 2nd Vice Chair; Rep. Karen Whitsett (D-Detroit), Secretary; Rep. Brenda Carter (D-Pontiac), Treasurer; Rep. Padma Kuppa (D-Troy), Historian; Sen. Adam Hollier (D-Detroit); and Rep. Cynthia A. Johnson (D-Detroit), Chaplain.

MLBC has grown from 23 to 28 members, thanks to the election and addition of districts now held by Senators Betty Jean Alexander (D-Taylor) and Erika Geiss, and Representatives Carter, Kuppa, Kyra Harris Bolden (D-Southfield), Mari Manoogian (D-Birmingham); and Sarah Anthony (D-Lansing).