TROY — Surrounded by friends and family, state Rep. Padma Kuppa (D-Troy) was sworn into Michigan’s 100th Legislature this past Saturday in her hometown of Troy. Oakland County Treasurer Andy Meisner acted as master of ceremonies, and Troy City Clerk Aileen Dickson officiated the oath of office. Kuppa is serving her first term representing the 41st House District, which includes the cities of Troy and Clawson.

“I’m honored by this opportunity to represent the people in Troy and Clawson,” Kuppa said. “Having been actively engaged here for more than 20 years, I have a deep understanding of the issues that the people of the 41st District care about, and I am so grateful that they have given me their trust. I’m ready and excited to be their voice in Lansing.”

Whether in her professional life or within her community, Kuppa has always worked hard to bring people together, valuing an environment of inclusivity and transparency which will undoubtedly characterize her service in the Legislature. Making history as both the first Indian immigrant and Hindu in Michigan’s state Legislature, she vows to bring a fresh perspective to the House. Rep. Kuppa introduced her new legislative team, Kyle Stefanski (Constituent Services) and Harish Nandagopal (Policy) to a packed audience, and encouraged everyone to be “engaged in our democracy.” Kuppa’s supporters were joined by elected officials from across the state to celebrate this historic moment: State Rep. Kristy Pagan (HD-21), Rep. Darrin Camilleri (HD-23), Rep. Brenda Carter (HD-29), Rep. Brad Slagh (HD-90), Rep. Mari Manoogian (HD-40), former state Rep. Tim Greimel, Kuppa’s predecessor Rep. Martin Howrylak, Oakland County Commissioner Penny Luebs, Troy Mayor Dane Slater, Troy Mayor Pro-tem Edna Abrahim, Troy Councilwoman Ellen Hodorek, Kuppa’s former Planning Commission colleagues Tom Krent and Mike Hutson, Pontiac Councilman Randy Carter, Northville School Board member Roland Huang, PCCS Board member Anupam Chugh Sidhu and Dr. Anil Kumar from the Wayne State University Board of Governors. Representatives from the offices of Sens. Debbie Stabenow and Gary Peters were also present.