DETROIT — State Rep. Isaac Robinson (D-Detroit), joined by award-winning vocalist Misty Love and Motown Alumni Association President Billy Wilson, announced the lifetime achievement honorees for the 11th annual Detroit Black Music Awards (DBMA) which will be held on August 4 at the Charles H. Wright Museum of African-American History. State Rep. Robinson and Judge Deborah Thomas will co-host the ceremony alongside award presenters including Kennie Bynum, Florida state Rep. Dianne Hart, Gary Grier of the Contours and Dorothy Bell-Smith, wife of the late Detroit radio personality Ken Bell.

​“The Detroit Black Music Awards is a time to reflect on and celebrate the previous year of music, and I am pleased to be a part of it,” said Robinson. “Music is an extraordinary vehicle to express ideas, speak out against injustice, or simply to share our emotions. Our city is known for its legendary artists, and the music created here has touched the lives of people across the globe. The DBMA is our opportunity to celebrate the deep history of arts and entertainment in Detroit, history makers of the present and to inspire the next generation of artists and music industry leaders.”

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Honorees include Clay McMurray, LJ Reynolds and the Dramatics, Sheila “Amuka” Brody, Ronnie Rushing, The Shades of Blue, DJ Michael “Sandman” Sandelin and DJ “Jumper” Hendon Howard.  Special Tributes will be presented to Sky Covington of Hug Detroit, the Locker Room Lounge, Bob Cafagna, Detroit Hot Radio and MEADesigns and Mead Jr. Production.

In addition to the lifetime achievement awards and special tributes the DBMA will be awarding several artists in the following categories: Female R&B Artist of the Year, Male R&B Artist of the Year, Blues Artist of the Year, Rap Artist of the Year, Gospel Artist of the Year, Jazz Artist of the Year, Live Musical Production of the Year, Karaoke Singer of the Year and Live Show of the Year.

The awards gala will feature performances by May-May Bell, Mia Johnson, Jackie Green, Tosha Owens, Nina Simone Neal, Joey Tre, Dennie & Shinda Ewell, Delbert Nelson and Kevin and Kim Crosby.